Home » News » ICC World Cup » Australia Squad for World Cup 2023

Australia Squad for World Cup 2023

The cricket fever is on, and Australia is gearing up for the ICC World Cup 2023 with high spirits. We’ll take you through the essential details you need to know about Australia’s squad, match schedule, and key players.

Australia is no stranger to the World Cup stage. They kickstart their campaign with a showdown against India, setting the stage for an intense tournament.

Having triumphed over India in an away ODI series earlier this year, Australia enters the competition as a formidable force.

Also, see this: Team Captain and Players

Australia Team History in World Cup

Australia has a rich history in the ODI World Cup, having won the title five times. They reached the semi-finals in the last edition but were unable to secure a spot in the final, losing to England.

Their last World Cup victory was in 2015, on home soil. With such a storied past, they aim to reclaim the title in 2023.

Meet the Australia Squad

Australia has unveiled its preliminary squad for the tournament, with Pat Cummins leading the team.

The squad comprises 18 players, with three set to be eliminated from the final list. Here are the players who will don the Australian jersey:


Steve Smith

David Warner

All Rounders

Cameron Green

Mitchell Marsh

Glenn Maxwell

Marcus Stoinis

Marnus Labuschagne

Sean Abbott

Wicket Keepers

Alex Carey

Josh Inglis

Travis Head


Pat Cummins (Captain)

Josh Hazlewood

Adam Zampa

Mitchell Starc

Match Schedule

The men-in-yellow are set to play a total of 10 matches during the league stage of ICC World Cup 2023.

Their opening match against India is scheduled for October 8, and their final league match against Bangladesh will be on November 11.

Here’s a quick look at their schedule:

  • October 8: Australia vs India
  • October 12: Australia vs South Africa
  • October 16: Australia vs Sri Lanka
  • October 20: Australia vs Pakistan
  • October 25: Australia vs Netherlands
  • October 28: Australia vs New Zealand
  • November 4: Australia vs England
  • November 7: Australia vs Afghanistan
  • November 12: Australia vs Bangladesh

The ICC World Cup 2023 will witness a fierce battle among 10 teams. Alongside Australia, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, South Africa, and the Netherlands will compete for the coveted title.

As the excitement builds up for the ICC World Cup 2023, keep an eye on Australia’s journey, cheer for your favorite players, and don’t miss any of the thrilling matches.

Also Read: ICC Schedule: Time date and Venue

Cricket fans, it’s time to gear up for an action-packed tournament!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *