Home » News » ICC World Cup » Point Table World Cup 2023

Point Table World Cup 2023

Welcome, cricket lovers! The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is just around the corner, and it’s not just about thrilling matches; understanding the points table is key to predicting who might lift the coveted trophy.

Let’s dive into the heart of the action and break down the World Cup points table for you.

Point Table ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

New Zealand330006+1.604
South Africa220004+2.360
Sri Lanka303000-1.532

Ten teams, 48 matches, and a battle of cricketing giants will unfold between October 5 and November 19 across vibrant stadiums in India. Defending champions England and runners-up New Zealand kick-start the tournament in Ahmedabad.

The last three World Cups have all been won by the hosting nations — India 2011, Australia (co-hosts alongside New Zealand) 2015 and England 2019 and now again in India 2023. The final will be played on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

The ICC World Cup 2023 will follow the same format as the previous edition four years ago, meaning that all 10 teams will face one another in a round-robin format. This will be the last edition to follow this pattern as ICC is set to announce a new format for the 2027 showpiece event.

The competition follows a familiar round-robin format. All 10 teams face off once, totaling 45 matches. The top four teams from this round will advance to the semi-finals. The top team after the round robin will play the team finishing fourth on the table, while the second and third-place finishers will meet in the other semi-final.

Also See this: Who Won the Toss Today?

The winners of each semi-final will meet in the final on 19 November. After India qualified as hosts, the next seven teams were decided by finishing positions in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, a three-year competition where 13 teams played eight three-match bilateral series each.

Teams and Format:

The competition will witness 10 powerhouse teams battling it out for glory. Here’s a quick overview of the format:

  • Participating Teams: India, England, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Netherlands.
  • Format: Teams will engage in a single round-robin format, mirroring the excitement of the Cricket World Cup 2019.
  • Semi-Finals: The top four teams from the round-robin matches will advance to the semi-finals, setting the stage for epic clashes.

Sri Lanka and the Netherlands, after finishing 10th and 13th respectively in Super League, progressed to Cricket World Cup 2023 only via the Qualifier.

Checkout: How to Book Tickets Online

The Cricket World Cup 2023 points table will be based on the standing of the teams and they will decide which four teams advance to the semi-final stage or eliminate from the tournament. In case where two or more teams end up with same number of points, the team with a superior net-run-rate (NRR) will have the edge over the others.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *