Home » News » ICC World Cup » New Zealand vs Netherlands World Cup 2023

New Zealand vs Netherlands World Cup 2023

Cricket enthusiasts witnessed a spectacle in Hyderabad as New Zealand secured their second consecutive victory in ODI 6 of the Cricket World Cup 2023, defeating Netherlands by a commanding margin of 99 runs.

This thrilling encounter unfolded with memorable performances, pivotal moments, and an array of impressive cricketing skills.

Player of the Match: Mitchell Santner

The man of the moment, Mitchell Santner, was rightfully declared the Player of the Match for his match-turning performance. Santner’s strategic wicket-taking abilities were evident as he dismantled Netherlands’ batting order. His five crucial wickets, including that of Max O’Dowd, Colin Ackermann, and Scott Edwards, proved to be the turning point in the match.

Player Of The Match-Mitchell Santner

Also Read: Point Table World Cup 2023

New Zealand Innings

Devon Conwayc de Leede b van der Merwe3240515180.00
Will Youngc de Leede b van Meekeren70801067287.50
Rachin Ravindrac †Edwards b van der Merwe51518731100.00
Daryl Mitchellb van Meekeren48476752102.12
Tom Latham (c)†st †Edwards b Dutt53467261115.21
Glenn Phillipsc †Edwards b de Leede44610100.00
Mark Chapmanc van der Merwe b Dutt513110038.46
Mitchell Santnernot out36172532211.76
Matt Henrynot out104601250.00
Extras(lb 3, nb 2, w 8)13
TOTAL(7 wickets, 50 ov)322

Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Devon Conway, 12.1 ov), 2-144 (Will Young, 26.1 ov), 3-185 (Rachin Ravindra, 32.2 ov), 4-238 (Daryl Mitchell, 40.1 ov), 5-247 (Glenn Phillips, 41.4 ov), 6-254 (Mark Chapman, 44.1 ov), 7-293 (Tom Latham, 48.4 ov)


Aryan Dutt1026226.20313310
Ryan Klein714105.85257010
Paul van Meekeren905926.55287201
Roelof van der Merwe905626.22205100
Colin Ackermann402807.0091200
Bas de Leede1006416.40286201
Vikramjit Singh10909.0011000

Must Read: ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule: Time date and Venue

Netherlands Innings

Vikramjit Singhb Henry1220221060.00
Max O’Dowdlbw b Santner1631402051.61
Colin Ackermannc Henry b Santner6973985094.52
Bas de Leedec Boult b Ravindra1825213072.00
Teja Nidamanururun out (Ferguson/†Latham)2126282180.76
Scott Edwards (c)†c & b Santner30273721111.11
Sybrand Engelbrechtc Conway b Henry2934553085.29
Roelof van der Merwec Henry b Santner1690016.66
Ryan Kleinlbw b Santner815230053.33
Aryan Duttb Henry1120190155.00
Paul van Meekerennot out43510133.33
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 2)4
TOTAL(10 wickets, 46.3 ov)223

Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Vikramjit Singh, 5.6 ov), 2-43 (Max O’Dowd, 10.5 ov), 3-67 (Bas de Leede, 16.4 ov), 4-117 (Teja Nidamanuru, 25.4 ov), 5-157 (Colin Ackermann, 32.5 ov), 6-174 (Scott Edwards, 34.5 ov), 7-180 (Roelof van der Merwe, 36.3 ov), 8-198 (Ryan Klein, 41.1 ov), 9-218 (Sybrand Engelbrecht, 44.6 ov), 10-223 (Aryan Dutt, 46.3 ov)


Trent Boult803404.25293010
Matt Henry8.304034.70294000
Mitchell Santner1005955.90304200
Lockie Ferguson803204.00315000
Rachin Ravindra1004614.60303101
Glenn Phillips201105.5020000

Dominance of New Zealand

New Zealand, powered by their strong batting lineup, set a formidable target of 323 runs for Netherlands. The Dutch side, chasing this substantial score, faced an uphill battle as the Kiwi bowlers proved to be a relentless force. Mitchell Santner, in particular, was in fiery form, delivering a remarkable five-wicket haul that included crucial dismissals, such as the opener Max O’Dowd, the dangerous Colin Ackermann, and Netherlands’ skipper, Scott Edwards. This remarkable performance was instrumental in New Zealand’s victory.

Key Moments and Game Dynamics

As the game unfolded, it was Rachin Ravindra who grabbed a crucial wicket, dismissing the in-form Bas de Leede. This left Netherlands in dire need of a strong partnership, but the New Zealand bowlers remained relentless, consistently taking wickets to increase the pressure.

The contest began with Netherlands’ openers, Vikramjit Singh and Max O’Dowd, showing initial steadiness. However, Matt Henry displayed the magic of his pace, swiftly removing Vikramjit Singh, and introducing Colin Ackermann to the crease.

Checkout: Cricket World Cup 2023 Live Streaming

New Zealand’s strong batting performance, led by Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, and Tom Latham, allowed them to post a competitive total of 322/7 after 50 overs. While the Netherlands’ bowlers, including Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren, and Roelof van der Merwe, put up a commendable effort, they found the mighty New Zealand lineup a challenging adversary.


The New Zealand vs. Netherlands match in the Cricket World Cup 2023 was a memorable clash marked by exceptional performances, thrilling moments, and an unwavering spirit of competition. As the tournament continues, fans eagerly anticipate more such captivating encounters that make cricket the enthralling sport it is.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *