Home » Education » UPSC Kya Hai? UPSC Exam, Eligibility, Syllabus Explained

UPSC Kya Hai? UPSC Exam, Eligibility, Syllabus Explained

If you are an aspiring civil servant or want to join the prestigious Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS) or other elite government services, you must be familiar with UPSC.

But do you know exactly what UPSC is and what role it plays in selecting candidates for civil services?

In this blog, we provide a detailed explainer on UPSC – full form, functions, eligibility criteria and exam pattern. Read on to learn everything about the Union Public Service Commission of India.

What is Full Form of UPSC?

UPSC stands for Union Public Service Commission. It is an independent constitutional body that is responsible for recruiting candidates for All India Civil Services and other prestigious central government jobs in India.

The UPSC conducts the renowned Civil Services Examination (CSE) every year for selecting suitable candidates for top posts like:

  • Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
  • Indian Police Service (IPS)
  • Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS)
  • Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IA&AS)

Apart from this main exam, the UPSC is also responsible for conducting exams for recruitment to various central government posts like CDS, NDA, CMS, CPF, etc.

UPSC Eligibility Criteria

To appear for the UPSC civil services exam, an aspirant must meet the following eligibility conditions:

  • Nationality: Indian citizen
  • Age: 21-32 years
  • Educational qualification: Graduate degree from a recognised institute/university
  • Number of attempts: 6 attempts for general category, 9 for OBC, unlimited attempts for SC/ST/PH candidates.

The age/attempt limits can vary for certain categories, so do refer to latest UPSC notification for full details on eligibility.

UPSC Exam Pattern

The UPSC civil services exam consists of three successive stages:

  • Preliminary Exam – Objective MCQ paper of two papers (GS Paper 1 & CSAT Paper 2)
  • Mains Exam – Total of 9 descriptive papers testing candidate’s knowledge and analytical skills.
  • Personality Test – Final interview round testing candidate’s suitability for civil services.

The UPSC exam syllabus is vast and covers History, Polity, Economy, Environment, Science, Current Affairs, Ethics, Reasoning Ability, Mental Ability, English Comprehension, and more.


UPSC conducts India’s most prestigious exam for recruiting to All India Civil Services like IAS, IPS, IRS, etc. Right from the eligibility, exam pattern to detailed syllabus, we have provided a comprehensive overview of UPSC CSE in this blog. Prepare smartly and you could be the next civil servant selected by the UPSC!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *